My Twitter Feed

August 1, 2014

:

Watch Etiquette -

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

Get-2-Know Your Lapel -

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

NYFW: Black Sail by Nautica Fall 2014 Collection -

Monday, February 10, 2014

NYFW Presents Jack Spade Fall 2014: The Art of Subtraction -

Friday, February 7, 2014

How to Take Care of Your Neckties -

Friday, February 7, 2014

Nobis Spring ’14 Collection -

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

To Fuse or Not to Fuse -

Tuesday, February 4, 2014

How to Take Care of Suits & Wool -

Friday, January 31, 2014

7 Essential Suits -

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Project NYC 2014 -

Saturday, January 25, 2014

Cashmere Care -

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

The Map of A Tie -

Monday, January 20, 2014

The Suit & The Sax -

Thursday, January 16, 2014

The Social Series: ‘Fashion Is…’ -

Monday, November 18, 2013

ALL MALE Nails Shop: Hammer And Nails -

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

5 Things You Notice About Your Clothes After You’ve Been Drinking -

Thursday, November 7, 2013

How To: Shave Down -

Friday, November 1, 2013

VAN DER HAGEN & THEWELLDRESSEDMAN.NET ARE GROWING MOUSTACHES FOR MOVEMBER! -

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Details: The Ports 1961 -

Saturday, October 26, 2013

The Key To Buying Off-The-Rack -

Friday, October 25, 2013

Do You Iron In The Summer?

 

This summers heat is giving everyone excuses and rationales for just about everything. Between work, happy hour, late dinners and weekend soirees, who has time to iron anymore these days? To iron or not to iron? That is the question. The summer heat is offering all kinds of difficulty when relying on your appearance to make the right first impressions.

Is it, that summer months gives everyone the excuse to let their hair down or is leaving the house rumpled being lazy?

Ironing

For years, brands have promoted their stress-free lifestyle of crumpled shirts and iron-free chinos for easy living but when the summer rolls around, stylishly crumpled turns into wrinkled obligatory. Brands alike Abercrombie & Fitch have built their consumer base solely on relaxed visions.  If A&F can promote being disheveled, then when did wondering the streets wrinkled become so unattractive?

Are we purposely not ironing to save time and energy? Have we adopted the identity of Dockers and Abercrombie & Fitch?

The definition of ‘wrinkled’ says that  it’s a crease on a normally smooth surface, caused by crumpling, folding, or shrinking but we know being wrinkled by washing, drying and letting our laundry be. If you’re interested in sporting the ‘wrinkled’ look, here are a few tips to ensure your summer style is purposeful instead of accidental:

1. Sporting crumpled still means clean. Washing your clothing and starting with a clean shirt ensures  a natural look.

2. Slight machine drying is rec commended. Don’t dry your shirting completely; leaving it slightly damp.

3. Lay your shirt on a flat surface buttoned properly. Smooth out the shirt with your hands and place on a hanger.

4. Let your shirt air dry.

Note: Please do not fully dry your shirt, leave it in the laundry basket to take out to wear. Or this is what you’ll look like:

ironing

ironing

…when you’re suppose to look like this:

ironing

Ironing

Which wrinkled look are you going with for the remainder of the warmer months?

 

Comments
One Response to “Do You Iron In The Summer?”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] this talk about living a fashionably wrinkled summer lifestyle has some of us on edge! So our friend Jeff Toliver over at TheSmugger.com [...]



Leave A Comment


nine − 1 =